Some people think that schools should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Giving encouragement is a necessary practice in every education system. Some advocates acknowledge that certain recompense should be given to students showing best grades in exam, while others deem that it ought to be given rather to those who show even a little improvement in order to motivate their effort. While I agree about giving trophies’ to individuals who stand first in class, I also believe, a recognition is also required to enrich their confidence in academics.

To initiate with those who argue that students with the best academic results should be rewarded. The core of this argument is that this would continue to encourage students to study hard for the best grade, and that those who excel at academic performances must be praised for their efforts. However, only some students who are very smart can able to come top in formal exams while normal students may think that they are incapable of competing with more intelligent students at all. Therefore, slow students might feel reluctant to bury themselves in study to meet higher scores.

However, my school of thought also finds favor with those who believe that schools ought to reward those who endeavor to study and make great improvements in the educational environment. For example, multiple studies found, when a child receives a small gift from his parents after scoring high grades as compared to the previous exam; it does make a significant contribution to his study and help him to progress fast in the classroom. Thus, it is suggested that schools take the same action to encourage students to learn. In other words, teachers can simply pay a compliment as the recognition of the efforts that students make during the semester.

In conclusion, it is quite evident from above discussion that schools must reward those who make academic improvements along with those who score highest in the exam. This will undoubtedly give them motivation in order to excel in the future.