Some people think that school should reward students who show the best academic results, while others believe that it is more important to reward students who show improvements. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are two views on who must be rewarded by school authorities. Some argue that the ones who excel deserve to be praised while others believe that the pupils who make the most progress must be rewarded. I personally agree with the latter since the second group need more encouragement to continue their path to success.

On the one hand, it is the common belief that people who get the best work done whether in school or at the office must be recognized for their excellence and thus be awarded accordingly. The reason behind this idea is that by praising the perfection everyone tries to get as close as possible to that ideal figure. In other words, by singling out the best, a new role model is set for others to follow his/her foot step. In contrast, rewarding students for their improvements gives the impression that adequacy is acceptable, and there is no need for students to push themselves so hard to be brilliant. Hence, these group are opposing to the idea of advocating imperfection.

On the other hand, students come from various family backgrounds in some of which they never had the opportunity to flourish and learn how to study or the value of education. Therefore, it is not fair to expect them to show the same level of performance as their peers who have been raised in a highly educated atmosphere while they have been constantly reminded of the importance of education. As a result, youth should not be evaluated by their marks but by their efforts. Furthermore, valuing the improvements boosts students' confidence since it gives them the sense of accomplishment. Studies show that even verbal approval from a teacher can significantly influence young adult to believe in themselves and drive them to achieve further goals.

In conclusion, I find the second argument more reasonable and believe that students should be recognized for their efforts and not merely their final grades.