Some people view giving presents as an important way to show care to family and friends, others think there are more important things that can be done to show care and love. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is argued that the only way to show love and care for your relatives and friends is through gifts rather than other mediums. In my opinion there are other ways of showing affection towards your friends which are more effective than presenting gifts. This essay will present both views with relevant examples and conclude with an opinion.

First and foremost in modern society there is a growing culture of giving presents amongst teenagers who believe that such materialistic object can impress and help in cultivating stronger bond between two individuals. Additionally parents who are working shower gifts on their children in order to compensate for not being able to spend quality time with their young ones. A recent research revealed that in United Kingdom around 70 percent of guardians feel that they should present gifts to their adolescents as had a feeling of guilt for not being able to spend time with their kids.

On the other side there are people who believe that there are better ways to show affection and care rather than sending gifts as such these objects have a limited shelf life. The argument presented is that in times of difficulty one should spend quality time and emotional support which can make the bond stronger. For instance if your relative is sick in a hospital it would be better to spend quality time with him and offer him moral support which can make his recovery easier.

To conclude, it is very important to show love and affection to our loved ones but it can’t be necessarily through gifts. Helping others in difficult times is the best way to show your affection.