Some section of the society feels that grandparents should live together with their children and grandchildren, while others say that older people should be encouraged to live independently.

Consider the possible arguments on both sides of this debate and reach your own conclusion.

The significance of staying together in the ever pacing world is an enduring debate. While some hold the opinion that grandparents live with their offspring, some assert on independent living. I however, feel that elders should be living with their children's’ families.

People supporting the view of grandparents living together with their young say that this type of lifestyle is beneficial for both the generations, including the younger. In environments of these families, grandparents could disseminate their knowledge and life time experiences to their young ones. This helps the grand children to develop the cognitive skills, interpersonal skills, and social behavior. Also, in families where both the parents are working, children do not feel isolated when grandparents foster them. This also develops value of strong family connection in the present generation. In a country like India, where much prominence is given to families and bond, this practice enhances the ethics and personal traits.

However, a certain section of people who are at loggerheads with the former assert that there is a need to make grandparents live independently. They argue that older generation who are not acquainted with the hustle and bustle of the city may be stifled by the current generation. Older people are healthier when they reside in serene and calm environments such as on the countryside in comparison with the lives between resonating noises of vehicles and overcrowded apartments in the urban areas. A research conducted by the students at the University of Cambridge on city dwelling of senior citizens with children and their offspring verses independent living on countryside had clear discrepancies in numbers. 97 percent of old populace chose to live independently citing freedom of expression and conventional lifestyle as major reasons.

In conclusion, though there are differences in opinion of suitable environments for grandparents along with supportive reasons for their respective views, I believe that grandparents staying with their offspring is better for the mutual benefit of both generations.