Some think the best way to motivate and encourage people to work hard is to pay them based on how much they produce and sell. Do you agree or disagree? Include relevant examples from your own experience.

As businesses become more competitive, every manager is trying to motivate their employee to put more effort into their job performance. Some believe that, the common way to do this is basing an employee’s salary On their rate of production and sales. I, however, do not agree that this method would be the best.

Firstly, one of the most conspicuous facts is that, the performance of many workers cannot simply quantified with the rate of sales or production. For example, my job as a statistician is to gather data, analyze and plan for the future. None of which involves producing or selling products with a definite price tag. Therefore, this renders misusing how much I have sold or produced is not possible for my company where I work. Instead, there are a vast range of standard measurements such as, the exact data, correct analyze, the performance of my planning, and the level of my manager satisfaction that determine how much successful I have been.

Secondly, on the pivotal aspect that need much consideration is that, there are some unexpected factors that effect on the worker’s performance. To instance, it is proved that, the current state of economy, unexpected political issues, and even extreme weather conditions all have significant impact of how much the employee sells or produces. Hurricane, for example, can easily devastate a farm and all its products without any of worker being responsible for any of damages or decrease in production rate. Therefore, basing wages on how much sell or produce can demotivate workers in such cases.

In conclusion, based on above discussion, it seems fair to state that deciding how much employees should earn, solely based on how much they sell or produce, is impossible in most, if not all, cases. Instead employers should look at a more diverse set of performance indicators, including customer satisfaction or work punctuality.