Some think that too much money has been spent looking after and repairing old buildings, so we should knock down old buildings and build modern ones instead. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Why do people spend a hefty amount of money on renovating old buildings? Should they be replaced with new ones? Which plan is the best? These are the questions that many have been bombarded with for several years. Although it is opined by some that modernizing old structures are utterly absurd, it will be proven by this essay that this may not be the case. In other words, renovation not only can bring environmental benefits, but make house prices more affordable to a great extent. Throughout the following paragraphs, these points of paramount importance will be taken into account to rationally advocate the latter logical standpoint.

Should people start constructing new buildings rather than restoring the old ones, the used materials become useless, leading to the environment pollution, for one. Take Tehran a megacity in Iran where many eagerly tend to build a newly-built home, as an illustration. By doing so, the old buildings’ bricks, iron, and plastics have ended up to landfills, massively contributing to contamination. It is, therefore, exemplified by this glaringly apparent instance that the more renovation the old buildings, the more protection the nature.

More significantly, nowadays, due to the high inflation rate, buying a modern home is not affordable; as a result, repairing old places will be a great policy to make it possible for everyone to buy a shelter. In Toronto, a cosmopolitan city in Canada, most of people can afford to purchase a house since most of them are rebuilt and renewed, to illustrate. Doing so, not only many have their own privacy, but they can change their house for a large size in the near future. By shedding light on this example, it is, thus, crystal clear that individuals can fulfill their dreams of becoming house owners through the old building renovation program.

To recapitulate, after careful situational analysis, repairing the existing buildings can be an environmentally friendly activity. Besides that, it will enable residents to experience the feeling of home ownership owing to their affordability. Based on the aforementioned compelling ground, it is, hence, hoped these preponderant points will be taken into account by constructors the world over, especially in densely populated areas.