Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time.

It has been a trend that travelling to unknown countries as a break before looking forward to job opportunities or higher education helps a person be more focused towards his/her goals.but not everybody has the same opinion as some might contradict this thought as a waste of time and money. This essay will further enlighten the readers with both the views.

Travelling has shown its benefits in people's life in plethora. some which could be such as meeting new people might open new pathways with respect to a person's curriculum. Moreover, different cultures, lifestyles, as well as food habits inspire some people to adopt them in their day-to-day life. For example it has been seen that many foreigners visiting India will surely take YOGA as a part of their daily routine which shall offer them health and concentration. Many a times it is been observed that travelling induces creativity and focus in a humans life. For instance, a recent survey in the United States about university admissions has said that people seeking admissions after a gap secure higher ranked institutions in comparison to those who do not take a gap. Further, a report on working professionals has shown that people who take short or long trips during a year show more efficiency in work in comparison to those who didn't.

However, it might not be the case always. Some people believe that taking a break from studies could distract them from their goals instead they could just finish their studies get highly paid jobs and then probably save some money and then travel to for relaxation. Moreover, certain countries do not support this kind of thoughts of taking a break from studies for a year or so. In countries like India, China etc. parents cannot bear such costs, rather children have to start contributing towards family income as soon as they finish their studies.

In order to conclude, we could say that different people have different opinions about travelling. some might consider it beneficial before kick starting a new career and some might find it better to travel post achieving their goals as a part of relaxation.