Some young people look forward to a year of travelling, a gap year, before they begin work or university and see it as a chance to broaden their horizons. For others, this is an expensive waste of time.

It has been a trend that travelling to unknown countries as a break before looking forward to job opportunities or higher education helps a person be more focused towards his/her goals. But not everybody has the same opinion as some might contradict this thought as a waste of time and money. This essay will further enlighten the readers with both the views.

Travelling has shown its benefits in people’s life in plethora. some which could be such as meeting new people might open new pathways with respect to a person’s curriculum. Moreover, different cultures, lifestyles, as well as food habits inspire some people to adopt them in their day-to-day life. For example, it has been seen that many foreigners visiting India will surely take YOGA as a part of their daily routine which shall give them health and concentration. Many a time it has been observed that travelling induces creativity and focus in a human’s life. For instance, a recent survey in the United States about university admissions has reported that people seeking admissions after a gap secure higher ranked institution in comparison to those who do not take a gap. Further, a report on working professionals has shown that people who take short or long trips during a year show more efficiency in work in comparison to those who didn't.

However, due to increased competition, taking a break from studies could lead to missing out on opportunities to get into elite institutions. Each passing year cutoff to get into top tier institutions keeps increasing. Further, it might distract them from their goals rather, they could just finish their studies, secure highly paid jobs and then save some money to travel for relaxation. In addition, certain countries do not support this kind of thoughts of taking a break from studies for a year or so. In countries like India, China etc. parents cannot bare such costs, rather children must start contributing towards family income as soon as they finish their studies.

To conclude, travelling is beneficial because it helps in enhancing an individual’s credibility in terms of personality development and learning new skills in his/her life but it comes with a price which is not an option chosen by all.