In spite of the advances made in agriculture many people around the world still go hungry.

Why is this the case?

What can be done about this problem?

It is undebatable that there has been a tremendous developement in the agriculture sector. Most of the work and processes has been mechanised. There is hardly any agricultural work left to be done manually. Inspite of such wonderful developments, a major amount of population around the globe is still hungry for food. This essay examines the primary reasons for this including improper distribution and storage system and natural calamities. Further, This essay will provide some solutions for this issue.

The primary reasons for the shortage of food is natural disasters. Every year, most of the nations around the world faces one or the other disaster such as earthquake, flood or draught. Such natural catastrophes exploits the production and thus farmers increases the price of remaining crops or vegetables. In short, the inflated rates of food due to natural issues makes it unaffordable to huge population. For example, in the year 2016, fifteen hundred tons of potatoes production got spoilt due to flood, consequently the price of potatoes risen ten times more. Another major reason is that there is improper storage and distribution of fresh food. Large stocks of food get rotten while they are stored for too long due to faulty distribution channel and later such food is disposed in rivers and grounds.

However, as like many other problems, these problems can be resolved by considering some simple methods such as proper distribution channel that tells what to send, where to send and how much to send. This way the food may not get wasted and be consumed by needful people. Another possible solution is to be prepared for natural calamities so that we do not have to inflate the prices of our crops. Some simple solution to this is to be well prepared for at least two year production using cold storage facilities so that if there is an unmanageable event occurs, we have enough food for popultion.

In conclusion, food is the basis of any living body's survival, every person need food. In this modern world, we are equipped with world's best machineries and technologies to support the production. However, there is still problem of hunger around the world. The two major reasons for this problem are inappropriate storage and distribution system and nature disaster. To mitigate this problem, we should focus on better storage and distribution system and cold storage facilities to store fresh food safely for long years.