Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The world is a global village and socialization has evolved from physical contacts to virtual communications. It is generally believed that television raise the level of laziness and reduce interaction among the people. I do not agree with this assertion because television encourages learning and helps in relaxing.

Information is power and television promotes knowing happenings around the world. Different programs are being aired on the television ranging from news, movies, sports, religious activities and so on. Different segments of the society are targeted with this programs. For example, it is generally known that men loves watching football and women are always attracted to stations showing love films such as zeeworld. This program promotes learning and does not promote laziness. Innate skills are also developed in the process, example is food channel that teaches different cooking techniques. People watch and learn how to make different local and foreign cuisines.

In addition, the populace watch television to relax. Relaxation is good for everyone either students, business owners or corporate workers. It is generally acepted that "all work and no play makes Jack a dull boy". While, in this is going on, people get to relax, share drinks and eat with family members. Also, they tend to call ,chat or text their friends and loved ones. Staying in touch and promoting Socialization.

In conclusion, television helps people relax after a long days work. it is generally suggested that television reduces productivity and communication among the people. In my opinion, I think television helps know abouhappenings around the world and it does not discourage socialization.