Television dominates the free-time for too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others. Do you agree or disagree?

Give reason for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

The world is now a global village and socialization has evolved from physical contact to virtual communications. Arguably, television may be assumed to raise the level of laziness and interaction among the people. I do not agree with this assertion because television encourages learning and helps in relaxing.

Information is power and television promotes knowing happening around the world. Different programs are being aired on the television ranging from news, movies, sports, religious activities and so on. This programs are targeted towards different segment of the society. For example, it is generally known that men loves watching football and women are more attracted to stations showing love films such as zeeworld. Innate skills can also be developed in the process , example is food channel that teaches different cooking techniques or football techniques been learned by watching football channels.

In addition, the populace socialises via chats on different social platforms and not television. With the advent of mobile phones, people tend to communicate with their phone as against the traditional method as this is more convenient and a faster means of communication. In recent times, people are becoming idle due to addiction to their mobile phone while on the road, at school, at work or even at religious places. This is one of the reasons for laziness among the public.

In conclusion, television helps people relax after a long days work and new skills can also be learned online. It is generally suggested that television reduces productivity and communication among the people. In my opinion, I think television helps people know about happenings around the world and it does not discourage socializatio