Television dominates the free-time of too many people. It can make people lazy and prevent them from socialising with others.

Do you agree or disagree?

Television is a great source of entertainment to us but addiction of this has adverse ramifications. In recent times, watching television is the prime activity to many individual to enjoy their leisure period. This essay agrees that, spending too much time in front of television makes us lethargic and unsocial.

Firstly, apathy to work is overwhelmingly increasing in today’s people because of this entertaining device. Though everybody watch television, women are in maximum number who prefer television to other activities for off time. This phenomenon makes our physics unfit and lead us to different type of disease like hypertension, heart problems etc. For example, a recent poll by the government of Bangladesh found that 80% women of total population daily spend around 5 hours by watching drama serials.

Another dangerous effect is the young children are staying at home at free time rather than meeting and playing with others at outside. As a result, social bonding has becoming vulnerable which will effect on their career later. Boys and girls are watching their favorite movie or TV show but they are forgetting how to behave with others in real life. For instance, in Dhaka there had been more social events and contest before availability of television but now it has been reduced by 60% because children prefer to watch television instead of taking parts in social programs.

In conclusion, obviously television has added a new dimension to our life but nothing excessive is good for us. People should be more conscious about negative impacts of being addicted to TV and utilize their extra time in fruitful tasks which are beneficial to health and career.