There are many different types of music in the world today. Why do we need music? Is the traditional music of a country more

important than the international music that is heard everywhere nowadays?

Undoubtedly, music has gained a special place in every individual's life today. Without music, life would be so dull and boring just like fish without water. We are blessed with the choice of a variety of music genres be it traditional folk and classical songs or latest pop and rock music. Even though international music is gaining fame, in my opinion, traditional music has an upper hand with regards to importance in our lives and I will elucidate the same with examples in the forthcoming paragraphs.

First and foremost, music adds freshness and brings positivity in our mundane life. To elaborate more, it rejuvenates our day

and hence provides us a new perspective on any task in hand. Some people have added music as a passion whereas some have even made it their careers like musicians and singers. Additionally, music lightens our hyperactive mood and brings

calmness to our heart and soul. According to a recent survey conducted by Harvard University, the results revealed that people who had heart diseases showed a better response to medicine and treatment after listening to music daily for an hour. Hence music is vital for survival.

There is no denying the fact that in a diverse country like India where history is deep-rooted traditional music can be found

everywhere. For example, the west side Rajasthani folk music along with Ghoomer dance is soothing to eyes and ears and if we go down

south then we have classical music with Bharatnatyam and Kuchipudi dance. Moreover Northside we have a Bhangra dance form on the tunes of Punjabi folk music and east side we have classical Assamese music. Our rich cultural heritage reflects in traditional art music which is essential to be maintained as it represents an identity of the nation. Therefore, traditional

music has outdone international music as it reflects our country and helps us understand it better.

In conclusion, music is very much necessary in our life for bringing some spark and enlightening our mood after experiencing Monday

blues. I firmly believe that listening to catchy tunes of traditional music makes us feel connected to our country and also

helps us to glorify its history.