There is a problem today that copyright materials such as music, films and books are freely available on the Internet with the result that the owners of the works lose money. Is this negative development or positive development?

In this technological era, copyrighted music and books are not only widely available on the internet, but also at the free of cost. Even cyber crime department has raised their concern over this top of heated debate. This essay intends to discuss potential reasons and mention this trend of freely available copyrighted content on the internet has considerable downsides rather than its perks.

Firstly, artists spend their entire life to make a piece of their individual art such as songs, music videos or movies and they earn money from that piece of art for their survival. Often their work gets uploaded unknowingly on the internet and because of that, it reaches to masses at zero cost and artists cannot earn money by selling it. For instance, a music composer hire musicians, pay them and invest money on latest instruments to record the album. Unfortunately, often the artist does not the cover the half amount he has invested on his project when his work gets available on the internet for no cost. Therefore, in many cases, they face financial crisis and failure even after putting the best efforts.

Secondly, it is commonly known even if copyrighted music is uploaded on the internet with individual's consent, their competitors or people from the same industry but from another country copy their work and do not give credits to the main author and composer. For example, taking real life example into consideration, music composer Anu Malik was proved guilty for copying and using western music into his Indian music and not giving credits to the international pop star Ricky Martin. Undoubtedly, such practice is morally wrong and by doing so, real talent does not get the acknowledgement it deserves. From this it becomes quite evident that often real talent does not get its worth even a piece of art is put on internet with artist's approval.

In summary, we discussed downsides of freely available copyrighted music and books on the internet. After analyzing this subject thoroughly, it is clear that wide range of availability of copyrighted music and novels on the internet for no charge is a negative development. As such, it is predicted that negative sides of such piracy will be forever stronger than positive ones.