Today the internet has replaced traditional books as a source of information. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages of this development?

Technological developments are growing by leaps and bounds and replacing the ancient ways of doing activities. One such advancement has been seen in the education sector where e-learning has surpassed the old methods of reading a book. This development has its merits and demerits

To begin with, one of the main reasons for using online platforms is due to the convenience provided by it. In other words, one can access online books from wherever they want to, even they can read them in any corner of the world. Unlike the hard copies, there is no need to carry with them. Secondly, it is also considered as eco-friendly because no trees are cut to produce paper. Therefore, one can act in a more responsible manner to deal with environmental problems by shifting on online books.

However, despite the benefits, this development also has some downsides.

Firstly, continuous screening on e-gadgets have severely impacted the eyes of youngsters. Owing to this, the majority is forced to wear spectacles as their eyes were severely affected by the blue to light emitted from the screens. Moreover, online surfing is an addiction and people tend to waste their crucial time on useless things.

As a consequence, they end up losing their focus on a certain work and redundantly procrastinate their work

In conclusion, indeed, the internet is an excellent source for providing information in terms of flexibility and convenience. However, it also has few drawbacks as one might lose concentration while completing important works. So one should make up their mind, and try to avoid irrelevant distractions and concentrate on their priorities.