Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages of this?

Tourism has acquired diverse dimensions over the years. Today, a large number of people are heading to places where conditions are pretty hostile. There are both advantages and disadvantages to this trend and I will discuss both of them in this essay.

On the one hand, there are many advantages to visiting remote areas.Firstly, tourism strengthens the economic conditions of such places. With more tourists arriving in a country the economy of that country grows manifolds. Secondly, tourism industry is the main provider o) employment in such areas where people cannot find any other means to earn a livelihood. Thirdly, to support tourism many roads and hotels are built in remote areas. These facilities are also used by locals and hence, they too are benefited.

On the other hand, this kind of tourism has its disadvantages too. Firstly, local people find it difficult / challenging to share the already scarce natural resources with tourists. For instance, water is already scarce in the desert areas and with more tourists coming in the life becomes really hard for locals. Secondly, many places in the Antarctic and Himalayas are already under threat due to the influx of tourists.

To conclude, in my opinion, the positive aspects of visiting dangerous places like Sahara and Antarctica outweigh the negative aspects. What’s more, tourists can take certain measures to ensure that you are not causing much damage to these ecologically sensitive areas. For example, they can ensure that they do not litter around.