Today people are surrounded by advertising. This affects what people think is important and has a negative impact on people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

We are constantly surrounded by advertising, from television commercials, radio advertisement or billboards to posters on the roads. People have different views about the effects of advertising on our lives. In my opinion, there are both positive and negative impacts of advertising.

There are two main reasons why it could be argued that advertising has several benefits on our lives. Firstly, advertising plays an important role in the economy. Companies need to tell consumers about their products and services. Advertising informs us about the choices we have and the use of the products. For example, Kelling ' cornflakes have a variety of flavours for different ranges to offer for different age groups and now also for people want to lose weight, thus giving consumers different choice to select from. So, without advertising, we would have fewer choices.

Secondly, advertising is a creative industry that employs many people, therefore providing jobs opportunities and income for many people. So, without advertising, there would be higher unemployment rate.

On the other hand, it is understandable why some people might think that advertising is a negative part of our lives. One problem is that advertisers often aim their marketing at the young age groups. Children, for instance, can easily be influenced by advertisements. So this put pressure on their parents to buy them things by pestering and nagging. Another problem is that many advertisements manipulate people too badly. Capturing the minds of consumers is the main intention of the advertisements. Thus by persuading people that buying a product will make them happier and with higher social status.

In conclusion, there are convincing arguments both for and against advertising, but I believe there are both positive and negative aspects of advertising. And I recommended that Advertising should be regulated and advertisements which aimed at children should be controlled or even banned.