Topic: Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? In twenty years there will be fewer cars in use than there are today.

Riding a car has long been efficient and convenient since cars were invented. People can drive it everywhere; no matter where and when you are, you can just hop into a car and immediately hit the road. However, I agree with the statement that twenty years later, the usage of car will probably diminish compared to current times. How is that if cars have such a long history and are said to be useful?

First, with the population booming and people moving into cities, it may sound like the number of cars will surge up. Yet, it is likely that the streets can be heavily crowded if everybody drives one car when transporting. Nowadays, as I have observed during daily periods in which people commute, the issue has already gotten more severe and in crucial need of being resolved. Sometimes, if there is heavy traffic, driving a car can be much of a time-consuming and grinding process as drivers wait amid huge packs of cars. Therefore, incentives of families and commuters to drive cars will possibly decline, causing more people turning to public transportation.

Moreover, urban development and gradually denser communities can lead to less land for parking spaces, which has become a major concern for car owners. They will either have harder times finding parking spots or pay for higher fees to rent one, if ever possible. This will decrease people’s incentive for driving cars as well.

Most importantly, over the course of time, people have conceived and created more diverse ways of transport, from horse carriages and the earliest cars to high speed rails and airplanes. In movies, we have also seen people’s imagination on future transportation, for example, personal aircrafts or even roller shoes that can help people move more quickly without effort. So, we can easily infer that people will surely come up with faster and more suitable means of transportation, which will fit more into the future society, and then make them into trends, eventually replacing cars on the road.

In conclusion, I think that as long as technology advances and human population continues to drastically shift and grow, there will surely be fewer cars in use.