Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

Recently, scholars are having a debate on whether history classes are essential for college students. Some hold the opinion that not all students, especially not those that are in the scientific field, should be required to take such courses. Yet, in my point of view, I agree that this requirement should exist.

First and foremost, taking history courses can help us gain more understanding on how countries and cultures build up around the world. The more knowledge students have in their minds, the more they can broaden their view as they communicate and share stories with people from different backgrounds. For example, a lot of universities are promoting international programs, which provides opportunities for students to visit abroad or meet foreign people within their own country. Students will find it captivating when talking to other people, sharing histories of countries of each other, and exchanging perspectives on past events. Sometimes they will be surprised that people have completely reversed thoughts on those, which can expand their horizons. Without a doubt, if they do not take history courses and learn those, they will not be able to discuss these.

Second, taking history courses can help students appreciate their culture more. In university history courses, instead of merely memorizing all materials and take tests, students have chances to take a closer look at how some historical giants and occasions pose an immense impact on our society. For instance, I learned about how a revolutionary literature-related act has greatly influenced how articles are written today during a college history class. It definitely helped me with obtaining a sense of appreciating my own culture.

Lastly, it is common sense that people should learn from the past. History courses in universities can offer students information on how people reacted to different situations, or effects from how they behaved. Therefore, students can learn from those people about what is wrong or right. For example, students often read stories of young Chinese emperors wasting their money and omitting all their jobs. For those stories, students can know that these will lead to miserable endings.

To sum up, I consider it crucial for university students to take history courses, no matter what their field of study is, since such classes supplement students with abilities which cannot be neglected.