University students are increasingly studying abroad as part of their studies. Do the advantages of studying abroad outweigh the disadvantages?

These days, it has become a growing trend for university students to study abroad for pursuing their higher degrees. Although studying abroad is very expensive as compare to their own country but getting an experience of lifetime and exposure to getting to know the other side of the world is worth it. As such, it has both merits and demerits to this trend but I am of the opinion that studying abroad has an edge over its cons.

There are myriads of arguments in favor of my stance but the most conspicuous one is that studying in a foreign land will add an everlasting experience in your life. Not only it will help you to increase the social circle in your life in a foreign country but it will eventually help you in your professional career as well. I can share my personal experience, I have done my Masters from Australia which is not my home country and I have applied in one of the multi-national firm in Dubai and I got selected for the job because the HR department thought I am the perfect guy to work in the multi-cultural firm. These experiences in life are paradoxically the beneficial advantages of studying abroad.

On the other hand, studying abroad is not for everyone because it’s one of the risky and expensive investment you will ever make to get yourself a foreign degree. Not every individual in this world is fortunate enough to bear the expense of living and studying abroad because it’s one of the cons of studying abroad that mostly privileged students have a higher chance to avail it. Take the example of my cousin, we both applied together but his financial evidence was not strong enough to support his claims as compared to mine for studying abroad and he got rejected. So it’s one of the downward for pursuing higher studies abroad.

In view of the arguments above, one can conclude that studying abroad has both its pros and cons in their own way but what I believe benefits of it are indeed too great to ignore.