Violence in the media promote violence in society. To what extent do you agree?

Violence has existed in our society for a long time, however, media is impacting the ways we act and unfortunately one of these factors is a physical attack. This essay will agree with the statement and discuss the problems media is sharing.

Nowadays adolescents spend significant time watching television programs and playing video games that include violence. This has become an increasingly big problem from the early age and parents are usually too busy to pay attention or they do not think about the consequences. In fact, spending hours on aggressive computer games will affect our mental health subconsciously. For example,  a recent neurological evaluation of youth brain function reported an association between violent media exposure and decreased brain activation in response to increasingly violent images and scenes.

Television programmes that include physical attack provoke the inside irritation and resentment. Being an active participant by watching the violence from media can effect our mindset and way of thinking a lot of more that we could understand. For example, television show called ‘’Krimi’’ in Estonia includes several crimes that have been committed mostly by the younger people in the city. There are several cases such as pocket theft, vandalism, drugs and even murders. This show role-models bad behaviours, however, some teenager might encourage their mind by seeing these actions because they want to be in television too.

In conclusion, aggressive and negative actions such as vandalism and physical attack can reflect bad behaviour in youngsters through television show or video games.