As well as making money, many people believe that businesses also have responsibilities to society. To what extant do you agree or disagree ?

Businesses, apart from earning cash, have duties towards society. In my opinion, I strongly agree with this statement as businesses ought to be looking out for public health and should do contribution to economy which will indirectly benefit society.

A good reason to support this idea is that businesses are fully responsible for the community especially their health. Organizations are in some way or another, impacting the health of their consumers and stakeholders. It is their utmost duty to alway provide greener products and healthier environment to all inhabitants. They should fulfill their responsibility by properly disposing the wastes, away from the residential areas. Then, they should always put factories and production plants in remote areas where it would not pollute the environment. Moreover, Some businesses use chemicals to preserve their products, in this case, they should clearly inform the customers about the amount of these substances and their side effects. Hence, all the above participation from businesses is an implied responsibility which they owe to the society.

Another reason to emphasis on the duties of businesses towards people is that it contributes in strengthening economy. Paying taxes is also one of the vital responsibilities of a company as it becomes a significant source of income for the state which consequently utilized in improving quality of life for the community. Furthermore, organizations are responsible for providing employment opportunities to decrease the unemployment rate. This would benefit the society by providing a source of income and eventually helps in mitigating poverty. It is often reported that in many under-developed countries. the government have made business duties for society compulsory, not obeying with these rules would rise heavy penalties, however, compliance with such rules would benefit as subsidies from the state.

To conclude, organizations do have proper responsibilities and duties to protect the society which comprises of keeping health safe and to positively participate in overall economy which again will benefit the society.