Write about the following topic:

Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

Children are the tender buds of our society, so we must choose curriculum for them carefully. Many people believe that social works must be incorporated in high school education such as helping youngers, participating in charity work. Undoubtedly, I do accord with this notion, as it helps children in many ways, and I will explain in my further paragraphs.

To embark on, every course included in education institute has immense importance in pupil’s life. For instance, science subjects help students to develop their analytical skills, which will be beneficial in their career. Similarly, if community works are included in their syllabus, it would definitely help them in many ways. For instance, teaching younger in any field of their interest, say cricket, will help student to develop their coaching skill that may be crucial in managing projects, because team members of a project regularly need guidance.

Furthermore, encouraging youth to participate in charity works like tree plantation will make them aware about the importance of trees in our society. As we all know the scarcity of trees and impact on environment because of deforestation, it would be a good idea if we can make aware our juveniles about the importance of plants, then definitely we can expect a better future.

However, charity works should be free or paid jobs for children is a debatable question. I do believe that there is no harm if we pay anything in the form of gifts or awards for charity work, it would certainly motivate young to participate more in the future. Don’t we adult feel happy if we receive benefits for our works? So, why can’t we give reward to a student for his noble work?

To recapitulate, including social works in high school are beneficial for the society to produce a better citizen. However, students must receive some sort of rewards, not necessarily money, to value their efforts.