You should spend about 40 minutes on this task.

Write about the following topic.

Recently, abortion increases rapidly and becomes a controversial topic. Some people suppose that abortion should be legal while others are against it.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

Bringing a life into this world is one of the most splendid experiences for a mother. But the number of abortion cases have increased significantly and is a controversial topic with people having strong opinions. This essay will discuss why abortion should be made legal with strong controls in place even though there are points contrary to it.

Certainly, there are some issues associated with undergoing an abortion. Foremost is the societal norms as per which it is considered a taboo. This is because it is considered akin to taking a life. There are researches, which are cited to support this argument, suggesting that after 24 weeks the fetus starts to develop a heart. Secondly, it harmfully affects the health of mother when she is operated upon. As the umbilical cord is attached very strongly to the woman’s womb, it can become life threatening for her. For instance after 20 weeks of pregnancy, 20% of abortions lead to death and 50% lead to permanent infertility as per medical records of our country.

However, it should not be forgotten that there must be some practical reasons because of which many abortions are taking place in recent times. Firstly, as the number of young people having sex has increased, the teenage pregnancies are on a rise despite education about protected sex in universities. In such scenarios, a girl is mentally and physically not strong enough to deliver a child. Additionally, the participation of women in corporate world has risen tremendously. In case she is not mentally ready because of her priorities towards career over taking a maternity leave or nurturing a child, the same should be respected. In my family, the average age of delivering first child was around 22 in my mother’s generation, which has increased to 28 in mine. Therefore, it is important to accept the changing realities and the legal system should be designed in a way so that it supports such scenarios. Women should be able to abort till a certain period, up to which their life is not compromised.

This essay discussed though there are adverse impacts on mother’s health and negativism in society, this is a current reality which we need to accept considering different scenarios and provide legal framework to support it. Therefore, I am of the opinion that abortion should be allowed legally with certain guardrails to ensure safety of the mother.