55) Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? A person should never make an important decision alone. Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

When we are trying to make an important decision, we tend to ask someone for the best. I think people should make an important decision alone. These are the following reasons: the result of the decision will affect on myself only, we do not have any assurance that the decision will be fine, we tend to abstain from our responsibility.

As a first, the person who were with me when I was making choices will be not with me when I have the outcome. In other words, after we made decision, taking care of consequences is not their business. When we are making choices, the people around me will not care of me that much. For instance, when I was in middle school, I was thinking to go to a vocational school. My homeroom teacher was concern of only school’s career; she only forced us to go to special purpose high school or public school. Finally, I chose public school. As a result, I needed to change my school because I wasn’t satisfied and my teacher was not part of this consequence.

Second, helping others on making decision can be bad even for the relationship since we do not know the future exactly. If the situation goes bad due to the choice that we chose together, I will feel very sorry and not be able to meet them again because of guilt. When I shared wrong exam material with my friend, I was not able to face her again since the result of the exam was bad because of me.

Moreover, if the the outcome of the choice that I made with others is bad, I might blame someone. People tend to shift their responsibility because people do not want to recognize the fact that they made things wrong. Even though having others to the process of making decision is their choice as well, people focus only to the fact that they affected to the wrong choice. As an example, “ because of you, mom” is the common situation that we can have. All the mothers help us including on determining the important choices; if the situation goes worse, we say it is because of mom.

To conclude, I believe that people should make an important decision alone on our own endeavor.