65. Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? To solve present and future problems, it is necessary to understand the past.

Throughout history, human beings have always sought methods to solve their problems. However, there are still numerous struggles yet to come that people have to face. In this regard, some people believe that for us to solve present and future problems, we should make a profound understanding of past events. I entirely agree with this statement. In what follows, I will elaborate on two reasons to substantiate my perspective.

To begin with, I contend that there are numerous fabulous experiences and useful knowledge that have been gained by people in the past. This immense source of wisdom can be used in today's world to overcome serious present and future problems. So, it goes without saying that people face an inordinate number of hurdles on large and small scales in our hectic world. Although many challenges in the modern world seem unprecedented, they have deep roots in common incentives that were familiar for ancient people. As a result, people should pay painstaking attention to past events and study their causes. It is only by studying history that people can access those pearls of wisdom and use them to solve present and anticipate future problems.

In addition, my conviction is that by reviewing past events gathered in extensive history resources, we can prevent many mistakes from happening again. In other words, even if history falls behind in answering our questions about a specific matter, it still can narrow down our search to limited possible answers, thus reducing our effort and spent time on finding a reliable solution. To be more specific, in many cases, people in the past have used options that did not bring them success. So, we can use their experience and stop making the same mistake over and over again. Consequently, not only can reading their experiences reduce our risk of failure, but also it can save a lot of time and resources in our forage to find answers. For example, today, we are struggling with violence and local wars around the world. As we can observe in different ages, people have faced the same problems, such as those the world experienced during world wars. So, it can be an appropriate lesson for human beings to control their desires and violence to prevent large-scale catastrophes, as their devastating repercussions can remain with human beings for ages.

According to the reasons mentioned above, it is a foregone conclusion that people can use lessons they have learned from the past in order to shed on today's lives. Although the problems modern humans are dealing with are not apparently the same as those in the past, one can find the same roots while having a comprehensible study of humans' history.