The ability to maintain friendships with a small number of people over a long period of time is more important for happiness than the ability to make many new friends easily.

Meaning of happiness is very different in various cultures. Some people may find it in maintaining permanent relationship with their spars and close friends, but some others may claim that the ability for finding new people is decisive. In my view, being happy in life is not restricted only to friends. there are many factors, which are more important than maintaining or finding friends. I feel this way for 2 main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

First of all, regarding the issue of having the ability to keeping relationships with old friends, one might suggest that it is not guarantied for having happier life. It may be because of having disability for finding new persons as friends. Even this fault may result to some kind of being not happy, frustration and even depression. For example, my brother has a limited number of friends. Having an introverted personality, he has many trouble for communicating with new people. As far as I remember, he has been alone in new places. As a result, maintaining old friend is not a great item for judging ones for being happy in their life.

Another aspect of having a happier life by social communications through our friends is not attention to other vital factors. There are many happy people, who have not many old or new friends. They pursue their important goals in life and with them are really pleasant. My personal experiment is a convincing example of this. I realy enjoy of reading book about chemistry, molecules, their interactions and other challenges of my major. I can do interesting experiment in my laboratory for hours and exchanging my ideas with others whom are interested in my field. It is no matter that I have old or new friends in my life. In fact, I prefer to spending time with my researches to wasting time with my probably friends in a coffee shop!

Overall, what drives some body to suggests that only maintaining old friends or finding new ones can not bring happiness to life, may fall into 2 basic categories including having certain disabilities or attention to other matters in life instead of friends. I hope each one finds his true happiness.