Is the ability to write well more important than that of speaking?

Nowadays, people begin to realize the importance of children’s speaking and writing ability instead of professional subjects learning. These are closely related to our daily life. For some parents, they believe writing well is more significant than speaking well. While others state opposite opinion. For me, I trust the ability of writing well is as important as that of speaking. Here isare my reasons.

For one thing, for most of time, the communication among people is speaking instead of writing. Speaking always takes a bigger part in our life than writing does. We would like to talk with others since it is convenient. Some researchers use the data to show that, in our daily social life, we spend more than sixty percent of time to speak with others. However, the rest of time we communicate by trying and writing. To some extent, speaking has a longer history than writing does. Before human learned how to write, our ancestors have already known speak with others to change idea.

For another, speaking is not only the ability of linguistic, but also the ability of improvisational performance. For writing, we could write down our ideas after thinking twice, also we could modified the article if we need. However, after we saying, we could not change it any more. What is more, speaking always relates to the emotional quotient. Since after hearing others’ words, we should respond in the best immediately. Take my friends Tom as an example. Tom is known because of his high emotional quotient. When we talk to him, we would feel comfortable and relax, he knows what is the best way to talk with others. He always defuses the environment of embarrassment. That is why we like to make friends with Tom.

However, we have to admitted that, the ability of writing well plays an important role during the process of signing important contracts on formal occasions. Writing well could help company to reach the cooperation easily. Being the basic abilities, both speaking well and writing well are very crucial.

On balanced, speaking is evidential important in daily communication, and writing well is good for signing contracts on formal occasions. Since such is the cases, I believe speaking well and writing well are same important.