Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

The most important characteristic of a successful leader or politician is the ability to communicate well.

In today's modern and sophisticated world, leaders and politicians play a vital role in people's success. In this connection, several factors make leaders successful. Although contested by many that the matter of having communication abilities is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded as both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that leaders should have a speaking skill to achieve success, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

First, a thriving leader is a person who convinces people to obey rules by speaking persuasively. To be more specific, if people do not accept commands, it will cause chaos in groups or societies, leading to failing leaders. There are some adopted rules in which people protest against them, so a great leader should communicate effectively with people and compel them to obey. For example, last year, our mayor increased the cost of public transportation and made townsfolk angry because they could not afford it. However, the mayor spoke wonderfully and advocated his decisions by explaining the benefits of the new rule, so much so that citizens felt sorry about their aggressive behavior; otherwise, they continued their disagreements, which caused disorder in the surrounding and hurt city management.

Second, politicians are successful when they have a social exchange with the public, which needs a communication ability. To elucidate, a thrive politician have insight into people crisis, thereby finding solutions for them; by doing so, people trust him and support him significantly. According to my own experience, our president has a weekly program, which includes people's requests. By knowing people's demand, he makes efforts to solve their obstacles; hence, people admire him intensively even if he makes unwise decisions because the public trust him. If he does not communicate with people and listen to their daily challenges, people won't support him in a difficult situation.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on each side, I profoundly believe that speaking skill is a real boon for leaders. Not only do they persuade one to become agree with them, but they also inspire trust.