High school teachers (teachers of students ages 14-18) spend most of class time lecturing (speaking) while the students listen and take notes. Other high school teachers spend most of class time on discussion and projects that students are highly involved in and exchange their ideas. Which of these two approaches do you think is more effective for student learning and why?

In today's modern and sophisticated world, teachers make an effort to improve the educational system. In this connection, several avenues are presented to increase students learning efficiency. Although contested by many that the matter of involving students during class time is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded both constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that pupils do not successfully learn unless they discuss their lessons during class time, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

Firstly, when students have a debate on their ideas during a class, they can gain a tremendous amount of knowledge, so it is an efficient method for them. To be more specific, each learner has specific ideas about subjects, and by discussing it during a class, others can be familiar with a wide variety of notions, which broaden their horizon. According to my own experience, when I was a high school student, my teacher asked pupils to solve mathematics problems and explain our solutions for other classmates. Since most of the students did not answer them in the same way, it provided insight into different approaches; hence, it increased our mathematics knowledge. Moreover, it encouraged learners to search for solutions to achieve efficient approaches before expressed in a class.

Secondly, if teachers force all students to be involved in class discussions, they will correct students whose information is false, so they learn effectively. To elucidate, when teachers monitor students who take part in discussions, they will help them to comprehend subjects crystal clear if they either make a mistake or have vague information. For example, when I discussed one of a chemistry concept during a class with my classmates, we had a strong disagreement on the topic. After my teacher listened to our arguments, she realized that I did not understand one cardinal fact accurately, so it caused misunderstanding. As a result, she warned me about incorrect data, so I grasped my fault and accepted my friends' explanations. Otherwise, I did not avoid inaccurate learnings.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that students should participate in class discussions. Not only does it help them to widen their information, but it also decreases the occurrence of errors.