As a student of university that has a long break between university semesters, the university requires all students to do one of the following for one month during the break:

• Take a course on the subject that has no direct connection to their majors of study

• Work as a volunteer to improve some aspects of life of the city or their home town.

Which one do you think is more beneficial for students in their university? Why?

In today's modern and sophisticated world, universities' requirements play a vital role in students' success. In this connection, learners should fulfill several requirements during a break. Although some people believe that taking a course on the topic which is not connected with pupil's major field is highly beneficial, many others hold the view that it is efficient for students to enhance some facets of life in their town. I agree with the second group notion, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

First, students can have a wonderful job opportunity in the future if they work as a volunteer for improving their city during a semester. To be more specific, when one wants to apply for a job, it is a crucial factor for an interviewer whether they have worked in the past or not. Thus, people who have a job experience can find a satisfying career in the future readily. According to my own experience, when I was a university student, I performed all my projects wonderfully, and I passed all courses with high grades; however, I have not job experiences. Accordingly, when I have applied for tasks, managers have not accepted me as I did not have a resume in working places, but my other friends with a lower grade than me found a vacancy after graduation because they worked during semesters' break.

Second, working in a break has a significant consequence for students and makes them independent in the future. To elucidate, at university, learners just reading their material in the books which do not provide insight into their non-academic life. After graduating from university, they face a host of challenges in their lives, which are difficult for them to solve independently. However, if students figure out real-life obstacles during semesters, they will become familiar with problems. For example, my sister participated in the project treating poor families who could not afford treatment expenses, such as vaccine injection. As she has learned how to inject, she could treat herself by injecting serum when her blood pressure was low, and there was nobody to rescue her.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on each side, I profoundly believe that it is helpful for learners to work on improving their city aspects during a semester. Not only does working provide job experience for students, but it also helps them to meet their demands without others.