If you are required to give feedback about your classmates/colleagues (work or performance), would you like to give positive comments or negative comments first?

Recently the phenomenon of giving feedback has sparked a heated debate. In this connection, there are several avenues to present ideas on peoples' performance. Although contested by many that the matter of giving a positive opinion about coworkers at first is highly beneficial, such an issue is regarded as constructive and positive by a substantial number of individuals. I concur with the notion that expressing negative comments after positive ones can be a plus, and I will analyze my reasons throughout this essay.

Firstly, if people understand that positive aspects of their job are observed, they will encourage them to continue them, so it is useful feedback. To be more specific, by mentioning one's plus abilities, they grasp which skills is beneficial; thus, pay attention to either enhance them or maintain them. As a person who is respected for positive characteristics feels enthusiastic, they enjoy learning about their negative behaviors without any frustrating feelings. According to my own experience, my manager holds a meeting every month to instigate our duties. When he approves of our work, all the colleagues feel energetic, and they aware that their efforts are monitored and be praised, so we try to keep our positive abilities. After the manager finishes his supportive comments, all of the workers ask him about their negative parts themselves because they spur to revise these parts. Therefore, they will be acclaimed at the next meetings more than before.

Secondly, commenting on the positive aspects of people make them feel confident, which improves their creativity. To elucidate, people who are innovative dare to present unique ideas in public because they won't blame them if something goes wrong. For example, when I was a high school student, I felt timid expressing my mathematics solutions to our teacher because she would tease us if we solved problems incorrectly. Therefore, pupils did not speak about their new answers during a class. Although students got good grades in exams, the teacher would felt angry even if one problem solved wrong. Gradually our confidence diminished, so much so that we could not have a debate on our innovative instructions; otherwise, we could develop our notions by amending them according to the teacher and other students' bits of help.

To conclude, while there are several arguments on both sides, I profoundly believe that pointing to positive sides is helpful feedback. Not only do positive comments guide people toward improvement in performing tasks, but it also prevents them from feeling embarrassed to discuss ideas.