Advertising

People are living in an era when the proliferation of goods considerably facilitate their lives, coincide with vexing them to choose exactly what they really need. Defying the questions of credibility and authenticity, advertisements have indispensable merits. To some extent, the emergence of them can serve as a conducive approach to lead customers to purchase without  tedious selection. Nevertheless, people's views diverge from each other on the question whether targeted advertisements towards children should be sustained. Some people hold the idea that this would benefit children the same way as it exert on adults. Conversely, others steadfastly boycott these advertisements for they may set off a string of irreversibly serious consequences on children. From my point of view, the differences of mental and physical conditions between the young and the adults may stand as a cogent limitation on children to choose goods composedly. In this regard, we need to contemplate before the publication of these targeted advertisements.

First and foremost, it's indisputable that children are too naive to discern things they really need, in this sense they may be driven by these seemingly eye-catching advertisements, begged their parents and clamor to buy things unwanted at all. The financial burdens foisted on the parents accordingly will definitely intensify the tensions of the family, especially for these young and newly-married couples. Besides this, these advertisements may urge children to eat junk food. Since these food could be exceedingly debilitating, they may even make damages on children's bodies at children's most flourishing age. This kind of accidents are inevitable. Taking my nephew as an example, he is only 4 years old, however, under the temptations of advertisements for fried-chicken, he has gained surprising weights in several months and eventually diagnosed to be unhealthy to some extent because of over intake of fat.

Furthermore, these advertisements can serve as a tool to entice children to buy exorbitant clothes or shoes to boast with their friends. Children are malleable and credulous for they are too young to gain the ability of self-discipline and are easily entrapped themselves with the vicious spiral of pursuing brands blindly. The rapidly increasing figure of luxury clothes dressed on children exemplify the fact that the trend of showing off apparels substantially catch on among children. This situation may even escalate if parents have no means to refuse their children's persistent requests.

To illustrate, advertisements do enable us to buy favorable goods without the hassle of comparing everything arduously before purchasing, but their positive influences are mainly on mature and clear-minded groups. When it comes to advertising directly towards children, we can not assure that these advertisements would not hamper the innocent and healthy growing process of children and lead them astray.

In a nutshell, blemishes encompassed within advertisements towards children reinforce the idea that this kind of targeted advertisements are detrimental for the family. To put it another way, we may bide undesirable consequences if we downplay the insidious risks of these advertisements. Based on these statements mentioned before, I want to reiterate my standpoint that by no means should advertisements directly towards children be allowed.