Is always telling the truth the most important consideration in relationships?

Of course, being honest is a significant factor needs to be considered in our relationships. I believe honesty is one of the important aspects of relationships, not the most important one, because of these reasons.

By being honest, people can trust each other. if one can not trust the other one this can cause many problems. For example when I was in high school, I had a girlfriend who would usually lied about little things like when I asked her why she had not arrived on time on our appointment she lied to me that she was stuck in a traffic jam instead of telling me the truth that she was buying stuff for herself in a shopping mall that I found later. Although These kind of lies were little, they were continuously diminishing my trust in her, so someday we were arguing whether or not she was cheating on me and she was trying to convince me she was not cheating but I could not trust her and I decided to end that relationship. However, It was possible that she was not betraying me and I made a decision on a wrong fact and who knows maybe we could be one of the happiest couples in the world. So dishonesty can force you to make a decision that may be wrong and ruin your relationship.

on the other hand, I want to mention something as important as honesty which is respecting each other. If you do not respect the other one it can encourage the other one to be disrespectful to you too. For example, when I was in a coffee shop, I ordered a mocha without the cream on it. But unfortunately, the waiter brought me a cup of mocha with the cream. I was really bored that day and I could not bear this kind of misunderstanding that day so I told him some bad things and he got angry and told me bad things in return and asked me to quit the coffee shop not only I got stressed but also I could not drink my mocha. It could have been much better if I just would have asked him to bring me another mocha. So it’s better to respect to maintain a relationship without the stress.

There are many factors that influence the relationship but I think these two are the significant ones.