Are governments doing well in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating?

In recent decades, the growth of population has caused the introduction of inorganic and unhealthy foods to the societies. States have adopted several techniques to increase public awareness of junk foods. The controversial question which arises here regarding this concept is whether or not authorities have succeeded in educating people about harmful foods. I am of the opinion that governments have indeed done well on this path. In what follows, I will elaborate on my viewpoint.

First of all, countries have used different media to increase public knowledge about their diet. Television shows, Internet blogs, banners around the city, to name but a few, play a crucial role in informing people about the food products. Not only do they provide the amounts of nutrients in foods, but they also exhibit harmful and beneficial foods. For instance, last week, TV was showing a program about the effects of red meat on our health. According to the show, eating excessive red meat causes blood pressure disease in the future, and makes us more aggressive. Also, eating green foods like vegetables reduces our stress. It may be evident that foods containing meat are harmful to our bodies, and everybody knows that. However, the program stated the results of conducted research that the average age of people who have more green diets is approximately five years greater than others. Following that time, thanks to the show, we have used less meat in our meals and instead have eaten more vegetative foods.

Secondly, by enforcing special laws, states have forced food industries to inform customers from quality of their products. Today, all of the ingredients available in stores have specified their compositions and food values. Also, food products have labeled so that people find their overall effect on their well-being easily. Moreover, authorities have set high penalties for the companies not providing these labels or manipulate them. They have used the charges to increase the students’ knowledge of illnesses corresponding to the foods in schools. For instance, last week, I read an article in the newspaper about a cooking-oil company that had manipulated their products’ labels. Authorities had researched and found that they were giving wrong information about their goods, so the state penalized the company for a considerable payment. Had the government not care about informing the society from their diet, it wouldn’t have done examinations to ensure food commodities with accurate labels.

In short, taking all the aforementioned reasons into account, one can readily conclude that states did an excellent job of informing people about their diet. Using various kinds of media to convey their message, coupled with making useful laws, are the reasons which strengthen my point of view.