Are government doing well in educating people to pay attention to the importance of the food nutrition and healthy eating?

The issue of whether the government do their duty well in educating people about the importance of food nutrition and healthy eating or not aroused much controversy among people of different ages and different perspectives. Definitely, some people, if were asked would agree with the statement that government could do their job in this field in the best way, while others have a negative attitude toward this point of view. As far as I am concerned, I am in agreement with the latter group. In the following paragraph, I will shed light on the arguments to support my view.

The first vital point to be mentioned is that the escalating rate of many problems that relate to healthy eating on an unprecedented scale proves that the government measures were not sufficient. If they accomplish their task appropriately, we should witness the effect of their measures in our society. For instance, according to scientific data, in recent years, the number of people who suffer from obesity increase significantly that linked to overeating. Moreover, the high rate of diagnosis the chronic diseases that related to the lack of proper nutritional status such as cardiovascular diseases, diabetes, blood pressure confirm people have not a healthy diet. As a consequence, this evidence proves that people awareness is not raised about a healthy lifestyle, in spite of the government might claim they do their job well.

In approaching this issue, apart from the reason given above, another reason that deserves some words is that the existence of many external things that determine whether people eat healthily or not are another compelling reason for my viewpoint. Take my hometown as an example to illustrate this. In contrast the past, the number of fast-food restaurants enhances dramatically which encourages more people to eat junk food. As you know, junk food due to the high content of fat and nitrate are really harmful to people health. While the government could control it by imposing the tax if they care to this subject.

By the way of conclusion, based on the arguments that explored above, I am of the opinion that government does not perform their task to make people aware of about healthy food, as many diseases that correlated to improper diet increase. In addition, the number of restaurants that serve fast-food escalates in recent years that attract people to unhealthy food.