Because the world is changing so quickly, people now are less happy or less satisfied with their lives than people were in the past.

Generally speaking, advancement of science and technology brings many advantages and disadvantages to people all around the world. People's environment is changing rapidly at a very high pace and new innovations are occurring nearly every second. Nothing is happening in the same traditional way. As a consequence, people think everything is changed, even people characteristics and reactions. Some may think nowadays people are less happy than they were before. Others may disagree. In my opinion, people are still happy and get satisfied like they were done in the past years for two reasons.

The first reason why I believe this way is, people are still excited and happy with their lives as before because they are still following and perusing the same old needs and dream that they were following decades and maybe centuries ago. They are still searching for foods to please themselves and fulfill their needs but in totally new ways. For instance, in past, they had to go into the woods with their families to search for foods or even hunt wild animals to eat them. But nowadays they are mostly shopping online for their foods and other needs. Families in the past decades and centuries were living in more crowded families and homes, even sometimes two or three families were living happily together and spent quality times together, but nowadays because of their busy lives and growth of cities they are living apart from each other and it may seem at first that they are more isolated and farther away from each other but in reality, they are still in touch and communicating with each other in new forms. With the advancement of technology, they can easily video call with each other from different zones around the world and still spend happy and quality time together. As you can see people are still happy but with new methods and in different ways.

The second reason why I believe this way is, as the world is changing so rapidly and everything becomes easier for people to achieve. Nowadays they have more things to do and even more time to spend with their family and friends and other loved ones. Outdoor and indoor activities are increasing tremendously. For instance, there are lots of new activities and entertainment ways in new TVs and smartphones that entertain people (Netflix, YouTube, Hulu, and others). Even today some parents are working from home thanks to new ways of remote working via laptops and computers. As a result, they have even more time to spend quality and happy time with their family members.

All in all, though some may disagree with my opinion, people presently are still happy and satisfied with their living style only the ways that lead to that goal is changed. Besides that, there is even more chance and more way for them to become joyful.