Children can benefit a lot from taking care of pets

The past several decades have witnessed the booming pets' industry. A growing number of people have pets at home. This phenomenon triggers a heated debate that whether children could get benefits from keeping pets, which has never ceased and even gained further vigor. Some people harbor the opinion that there are a lot of advantages for children to have pets at home while the other individuals, however, view this issue from a different angle and conceive that kids should not be allowed to live with pets. Taking these two views into consideration, I highly sympathize with the former one and the following paragraphs will testify to the credibility of this argument.

To begin with, considering the most convincing reasons from the supporters, one must be stressed is that keeping pets is beneficial for children's mental health. Because pets play an essential role in children's lives, they can get rid of the sense of lonely. With the policy of "one family has one child" comes to China, most of the families just are allowed to have one kid at home. Under this circumstance, our children are bound to feel so lonely and boring due to they cannot stand a fair chance to have siblings. Thus, pets fix this imperfection and they become the best friends and companies for children. Whenever children feel depressed, upset or uncomfortable, they can turn to their pets for placing their emotion in order to feel better. Consequently, nobody could deny the importance of pets that can bring to children, especially pets make children's life more appealing and full of happy.

In addition, adopting pets can cultivate children's living skills and they could learn a lot of knowledge from it. As we know, when we bring pets home, we usually treat pets as our own babies. Children have the same feeling as well. They act as pets' mum or dad and teach pets how to behave properly at home. For instance, my best friend Jenny has a dog named Nina. When the first time that she brought Nina at home, she decided to teach Nina to pee in the restroom in order to have a good living habit. By training Nina, she also knew that she should behave like an adult, so she abandoned some impolite behaviors, such as speaking loudly in public place since she thought that if she made bad behaviors, her dog might do the same thing like her. In this way, she adopts many beneficial habits and proper behaviors. What's more, she learned a lot of living lessons from taking care of her dog, which is another benefit that keeping pets can bring.

Furthermore, a recent survey, conducted by Harvard University, after polling two thousand of people who often keep pets at home, reveals a significant percentage of the respondents, 87.5 percent, present that they cannot live without pets since pets are their family members. Besides that, one interviewee says, “ After having my dog, I become independently because I have the obligation to walk it, feed it and play with it every day. In this way, I don't need my parents' help since I can handle all things by myself."

Admittedly, some people may argue that keeping pets will disrupt children's attention which belongs to study because it is actually time-consuming. However, if parents guided children to spend time at a rational level, this situation should not be worried about. For instance, parents can set as an example to teach children that if they want to be an eligible parent, they should know how to manage their time and allocate their energy well. Only in this way can children have a brighter and happier life in the future.

To sum up, I strongly believe that children can benefit a lot from taking care of pets due to it can not only offer a helping hand for children's mental health but also children can learn some valuable lessons from it.