Children should be required to follow strict rules set by the parents

Children are an epitome of clay, they mold as you treat them. If I were forced to choose, I would disagree with the statement that children must follow stringent rules set by their parents. It is my firm believe that children should be allowed to discover themselves and learn on their own. I feel this way because of some reasons that I will develop in subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, children that grow up in stern households, grow up to be less confident and struggle with communicating outside of their homes. For instance, at school or college. Children should be allowed to do things on their own, that way they learn and discover new things and techniques and grow up to be confident in themselves and assertive in whatever life brings them. My own experience is a compelling example of this. I grew up in a household where my parents sternly dictated most of things that I feel shattered my self-confidence. As I grew up and pursued higher education, i always had trouble communicating with peers and lecturers. On top of that, I avoided communication and stayed on my own. As a result, I was left behind in projects because I would not take help and talk to anyone.

Secondly, parents that raise children under rules tend to be rebellious especially teenagers, they tend to hide their feelings and do what their peers do to fit in. In result, they can go in a wrong direction, if parents are lenient and allow children to be on themselves they would consider things cautiously and even share with parents to get better advice. For instance, I had a friend in school those parents were very strict on where she went and who she went out with. As a result, she became frustrated and started skipping school to go out with friends. Had her parents not set rules she would not have went against what her parents advised her.

In conclusion, although it is important for parents to keep an eye on young children it is also pivotal for growing kids to be set free to grow and discover. In the light of the above mentioned reasons, I strongly believe that children should not be required to follow strict rules.