A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18) improve their teaching. It is considering two plans:

1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school.

2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually.

It is universally acknowledged that education plays an extremely important role in a person’s life. Hence it is imperative for students to receive higher quality of study and teacher should improve their teaching methodology. In my opinion, improving teacher’s teaching by means of online training is more effective. My points and examples are given below.

Firstly, study individually on the computer for each teacher can reduce more loss of time on training. If teachers are asked to improve their teaching quality via such a constant barrage of measures from the first point given in the material. Teachers, especially among these excellent teachers, would firstly consume their time in attending the meetings, which means students would lose the chance of studying certain subjects from part of their teachers. Even though teachers’ comprehensive method of teaching has been improved, they have to complement the courses left by their students, which can cause the additional consumption of time. However, if teachers are allowed to study individually by using their Internet, they can not only impart the essential knowledge to their students but also keeping in line with learning the effective teaching tactics in time. From this point, teachers can minimize the total loss of time on teaching and also they could also take their fresh-learned skills into practice.

Furthermore, as every teacher’s teaching style and the comprehensive atmosphere of every class seems to be distinct from each other, so individual study by every teacher can better enable them to adjust their teaching method themselves in time corresponding to their own class. If the teachers would improve their teaching quality by means of having such the training meeting from a expert, they might mostly have less access to various ways of teaching and might consume more time just on adjusting their methods relating to their own class. However, if teacher can study individually, they can better analyze and improve their teaching methods in time. For example, if a teacher can study individually at home, then once he has learned something that seems to be effective, then he can apply this method to his class in time in the next class to confirm whether the strategy is efficient and acceptable to his students or not. If not, the he can continue to have the training courses himself and then adjust or change the teaching method, hence a chance of many practical trial can finally lead to an effective and appropriate measure of teaching. On the other hand, the process and effectiveness of the measure of having the training meeting can really be regarded as a more costly way.

Admittedly, I am not saying that the tactic of having the successive meeting is always ineffective, the expert might sometimes actually possess more effective knowledge and measures, which is appropriate to all the students of every individual class. And it is also effective if most of the teachers in the school are not skillful which actually needs more direct instruction rather than self-study for them. But compared to the overall advantage of teachers’ self-improvement, that is only a small point at all! Due to the limitation of space, I am unable to give more examples and cases, but I believe that the ideas above have already proven the validity of my point of view.