At some universities, students take part in making decisions about the issues that affect daily life of everyone on campus, such as how many hours that the libraries should be open each day or what kinds of food should be served in the cafeteria. But at some universities, experts are hired to make decisions, students almost never involved. Which approach do you prefer and why?

Nowadays, making appropriate and reliable daily schedule is very imperative for students at their universities. Some people argues that it is much better for students themselves to oversee and determine the whole procedure in the university as they possess more authentic information about the students themselves and earn more public supports. However, in my opinion, I suggest that it is still effective for professors to inspect the overall routine from the university.

First of all, professor actually possesses more professional knowledge, who can effectively implement beneficial and sustainable measures. Due to students are “students”, who are still in the phase of being imparted knowledge, they do not own enough useful and broad knowledge and practices. Hence most of the time these students would treat the school’s issues or make the regulations partially, leading to ineffective results in the long-term side. For instance, in our school, our schoolmates all enjoy beverages and fried foods because they are always tasty. They actually rarely know or aware of the negative effect of overconsuming such these types of food. Hence if we asked the students to determine the daily issue, undoubtedly they would ask dining hall to supply more of these foods. However, in the long term, even though our desire is met, it is absolutely detrimental to our students’ physical health, such as obesity or high blood pressure. Hence an invitation of the professor can effectively avoid the occurrence of such these problems as they can fully analyse and understand the negative effect of consuming these junk food, and what’s more, they can also provide more healthy and reasonable food types within using their own specific knowledge. Although there might be arguments among students, it really benefits them a lot in the long run after all.

Furthermore, some elected students might have some biased opinion that cannot consider everyone as a whole at university. Every student has his or her own thought and everyone is unique as different strokes have different folks. The elected students’ own idea cannot always be accepted by everyone at university, hence causing the student’s union decision ineffective. For example, in my sister’s school, which the regulation is mainly controlled by the student union, gets some flaws from their union. Union proclaimed that the university’s library would actually be opened until 4 o’clock in the morning. However, one of school’s female dormitories is in front of the library. The students who study during the nocturnal time really at library really treat students who want to sleep with a strong luminous environment, interfering their sleeping quality. However, be means of employing the professor, they will consider every student’s aspect and the overall comprehensive factor---such as students’ health, the pressure controlled factor--- as a whole, which is beneficial to everyone and can hardly create any prejudices among students.

Due to the limitation of the space, I am unable to give more ideas but i believe the case above have already proven the validity of my point of view.