A city wants to help teachers of its high school students (age14-18)improve their teaching. It is considering two plans: 1. Choose a small group of excellent teachers; these teachers will attend a class led by an expert for additional training in how to teach effectively, and they will then come back to their schools and provide that training for other teachers in school. 2. Provide additional training in teaching effectively for high school teachers, using online material that each teacher will study individually

Last decades have witnessed tremendous advancement in our national education. It is reflected in not only almost all the teenagers at the age from 14 to 18 are enforced to attend compulsory education, but educational skills, equipments and new concepts pop up replacing old-fashion ones, largely improving the quality of schooling. In a word, it is an epoch-making time when unprivileged students could seize opportunity so as to alter their lives. To keep up with this significant and striking transformation, teachers in high school never stop heading toward better teaching capability. However, when it comes to how to help them develop their skills, different people may have divergent viewpoint. Some express their appreciation of training a few teachers at first and then letting them in turn provide that course for others. As far as I am concerned, whereas, I would display my preference to using online material and realizing this studying individually.

Initially, teaching online is more efficient than the former one. Nowadays, teachers are under too much pressure, for example that they have their obligation to prepare the class and amend students’ homework, making it arduous to spending a lot of time taking part in these courses, especially for those excellent teachers who is the most precious resources at educational field. As a result, providing this training with online material could easily solve this puzzle. Every teacher has a personal computer given by high school now. So it is extremely convenient for them to take this class wherever they go and whenever they want, such as the break between two classes with a cup of coffee in hands. And what is more, if they could be trained via the network, numerous effective methods would be exerted such as they will be able to use more multimedia, rendering them to understand and assimilate knowledge impressively.

Admittedly, the traditional way to learn a new approach of teaching is to send a small group of teachers for a lesson and then let them train others when they are back. The reason why people choose this is at that time online courses were not pervasive, preventing good teaching method spreading all around our countries. Personally, people asserting the former one might have not left their comfortable zone. Obviously, hardly could one offer a reasonable and sensible excuse for the former proposal.

Considering what I have discussed above, using online material, I think, is a better choice to apply the course.