A/D: parents should determine the future of their children rather than allow children to make their own choices.

No one can deny that making decisions for the future is very crucial and required a lot of knowledge. In this context, parents can be very effective in determining the future of their child. However, the involvement of parents for making decisions for the future of their children by themselves has always been a controversial topic between families. Personally, were I forced to advise parents in this context, I would definitely say to them that let your children construct their future by themselves. I feel this way because it helps them to become independent in the future and can choose their future based on their interest because they should live it not their parents. To shed light on my viewpoint, I will elaborate on those reasons in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that supports my perspective is concerned with the fact that making decisions for the future's life of children makes them dependent on their parents. To put this in a more vivid picture, while making such decisions is hard and requires a high level of knowledge and a long-term viewpoint, it can help children to become independent in the future and be able to do their job by themselves. Although, their parents can be a good source of help for making those decisions. Consequently, by being freestanding in making decisions for the future by children themselves, they can be more successful in the future; however, they should consider the experiences of their parents, families, and friends. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in elementary school, my father always told me that you should make your decisions by yourself even I did not have very experiences. So I always try to consider the long-term effects of my decision and make them by myself which help me to improve my decision making skill. Even I chose my field in university, which is The University of Tehran, by myself while a lot of my friends went to the fields that their parents chose. Moreover, this skill made me independent which was very helpful for me when I went to university and lived in a dormitory. Had I not allowed to make my decision by myself, I would never have been able to become independent in the future.

Another conspicuous point that should be brought up in this context is the fact that they are children that are going to live in the future so they should make their future and its decisions by themselves and parents should not intervene in this affair. As a matter of fact, making decisions for the future such as a field in university, needs a high interest in that decision because if children do not like those situations, they will not be successful. Nevertheless, parents may know their children's personality and can give them a piece of advice in their decision, but children should make those decisions by themselves finally. Therefore, children know their fields of interest and personal characteristics better than their families and it better that determine their future by themselves. To be specified, comprehensive research in 2020 at The University of Tehran has shown that even though parents know their personal characteristics of their children, they often make wrong decisions for their future. This study has been applied for many students in university and most of them believes that their current decision is not compatible with their interest and therefore they are not happy and successful while most of their fields had been chosen by their parents. As a result, based on the aforementioned study, the more knowledge children have of their interest, the more accurate decision they can make for their future so it is better that parents allow them to determine their future by themselves.

To make a long story short, I am of the opinion that children should determine their future by themselves, This is my firm belief that is rooted in two main reasons: (1) by making such decisions children can become independent in the future and also, (2) those children are going to live in that determined future so it should be based on their interest and personal characteristics.