Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? Students are more interested in politics now than they were in the past.

Task 2

No one can deny many things that have been changed during human history that people's interest is one of them. Students as a part of society mostly continue their academic education in the fields that they are interested in. The level of student's contribution in politics has been a controversial topic between universities administrators. Personally, were I wanted to analyze the level of student's interest in politics over time, I would definitely say that today students are more interested in politics in comparison to the past. I fell this way because in the past politics was not the main society major and student involved in other areas of science and in the past, there was not any politic program in the universities. In order to shed light on my viewpoint, I will elaborate on these reasons in the following paragraphs.

The first reason that supports my perspective is concerned with the fact that politics was not very important for life in the past thus students were not interested in it. To put this in a more vivid picture, while international problems between countries were very significant in the past, economic problems were the major concern between people and students. Moreover, students were interested in a different area of knowledge such as physics, chemistry, and mathematic. Consequently, students were not interested in politics because it was not the major 'ssocial concern whether or not its effect was clear on students' life. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was in university, although, my major was engineering, I used to study politics in my free time because I understand the effects of international politics on my life while my grandfather told me that he did not have any interest in politics because the main problem in that time was an effective way of cultivation crops and such economic problems. During my study in politics, I really interested in this area, and after a while, I decided to change my major to international politics. Had I not studied politics, I would not have changed my major politics because of my interest.

Another conspicuous reason that should be brought up here is the fact that politics is one of the main academic fields in the universities and this encourages students to study it and interest in it. As a matter of fact, since knowledge's circle was very limited in the past, people do not have any interest in politics. Additionally, lack of scheduled academic program which was not related to the politic was an additional reason that students did not have any information about this area of knowledge. Therefore, students mostly involve in the other field of science and politics was not really popular between students else for societies' leaders family. To specify, comprehensive research has shown that universities are very effective in inducing students to choose their fields of study. When universities do not propose a specific field, students and people do not have any information about that specific field. Based on the results of this study, the more universities contribute to informing people of politics, the more students interested in the study this area of science.

To make a long story short, I am of the opinion that politics is one of the major interest topics between students while it was not very important in the past. This is my firm belief that is rooted in two reasons: (1) politics was not a very important topic in the past and its effect was not directly clear on people life, and (2) students have more politic's knowledge and they study this subject as a major in the university.