do grades encourage students to learn?

Oversee education in the world, we would be amazed for the various exams which should students participate in every terms. Evidently, marking is considered as the most common way to judge students’ performance. The education system is difficult to run without marking. In some extent, work for high score is the key to motivated students focus on text books. We cannot deny that score could encourage students to study, however, we cannot exaggerate its importance.

Without saying, marking could made students study for get the No1. No1 is a holy place for them. No one would like to be fall behind. So, as soon as the competition begin among students, study efficiency would improve. Those winners would study harder and harder to keep their place, for those who failed from competition would either study hard, in order to eliminate errors in the past and struggle for the better score. Students are given power because of this mind. Researches from Chinese Academy of Sciences had a survey in ten key middle schools in Shang Hai. They listed a serious of problems about what motivated them to study hard in the schools, and asked students to answer the paper. From 2000 participating students, more than half of students mentioned they desired to get good grades in National College Entrance Examination.

Score could also help students to find out their insufficient during studying. For every time the ending of a round of test and announce results, students would find disadvantages in some subjects. They would try their best to find the reason why they lose the marks. After reviewing, they would naturally pay attention to something ignored before, and acquire the objective attitude in their school work. Since then, they would focus on disadvantage appealing in the test. As a common principle says, eliminate from mistakes from the past could help to avoid made new mistakes. If it works, students could advance.

However, high scores and low abilities have already been some students undesirable place. Meanwhile, low mark also causes some of students lose confidence to study. school should avoid the production of these two extremely phenomenon. Study is a comprehensive process, instead of just include get score and pass the exam. For instance, school could implement projects which main purpose is open up thinking and cultivate interests, offering students part time jobs to accumulate experience and organize plentiful activities, all of these study chance favored by students could encourage them to get better grades, and help them embrace challenges when join the labor force in the future.