Do grades help students to learn?

In many schools, teachers evaluate students by their grades. Some people think it is unfair and one-sided to assess pupils by examinations and scores. In contrary, others disagree. As far as I am concerned, I am with the first group. Grades discourage students from studying for learning; perhaps it adds a lot of stress in their lives. Also, it does not reflect the real level of the students at the school. Following is a brief explanation of my perspective.

First of all, Children between age five to seventeen spend more than eight to ten hours daily at school institute. It is an essential for their teachers to encourage them to love their studying knowledge subjects which; mostly, hard and tough to absorb such as Mathematics, Chemistry, Physics, and Science. If their advisors evaluate them according to their exams, they feel it there is no need for regular homework preparation or daily school participation. Take an example, my school. It was disappointing for me to study only for the final examination. In fact, our teachers taught us a technique of how to select the right answer; therefore, we study few days before the exam only to have higher grades. Consequently, most of the studying materials evaporated.

Secondly, grades add a lot of stress for students at the school. Especially when their parents and relatives ask their kids for their grades to be proud of them. In many cases, it encourages them for competition to have the best and the higher scores. But, those students do not have the same intelligence level. This situation like forcing everyone to wear the same size shoes. Pressurizing those kids with their studying material is painful. For example, when I was in high school, my parents; always, compared me to my cousin. They do not care how many hours I spent daily to prepare for each exam. The only thing they wanted it to be better than my cousin. At that time, I hated the school so much. It stressed me out. I could not enjoy the school environment. For me, studying was not for learning, it was for pain.

Last but not the least, undoubtedly, grades do not reflect the actual intelligence level of the student. Of course, most of the good score depend on student's working hard, and preparation. However, there are other factors which have an indirect effect on that score. Such as unexpected illness or out handed family issues that permit some student from attending the exam or from focusing on the day of the grades. Unfortunately, I struggled with this kind of situation when I was at my alma mater, at the date of the final examination of my Organic Chemistry subject. My grandmother passed away.I was sorrowful and crying most of the day. Therefore, I could not focus on the exam and got a very low score. I think it is unfair to evaluate students in this way.

Considering all above together, I do not believe grades is the best to learn. It discourages students from learning; it adds a lot of pressure in their lives, and it is not the right way to estimate the student's actual level.