Do you agree with the following statement? People often buy products not because

they need them but because other people have them.

Today’s shopping is being more controversial in everybody’s life. They focused on each other’s lifestyle to find some ways to improve their own life especially on how other supply their necessities. I believe; however, people unconsciously copy other people’s behaviors and competing with each other have made them superficial.

Not only are people influenced by marketing, they are also influenced by other consumers whom they live around them. Sometimes they imitate others to fit in; sometimes they follow people they know because they are merely uncertain about the best choice. For instance, someone sees a pair of boots in her friend’s closet, and she thinks it may be essential for her during the freezing days, so she tries to buy one pair for a rainy day. Copying others is not limited to the influence of people you know. Merely noticing what other people consume can affect what they buy, often unconsciously. Another example, buying ice cream in the park after seeing others eat some first, plays an essential role in this process that causes us to feel a desire to buy one.

Another point is that competition in people is strong and has become an integral part of their life. Sometimes they put effort with an ostentatious display to splurge themselves in richness. In these visions of grandeur, they do not care about what they need. Thus, they want to purchase something to show-off to their peers that they are wealthy. Leasing an expensive car to show your colleague would be a perfect example of this type of behavior. Superficiality is another aspect of this type of behavior. For example, after the advent of LED televisions, people were faced with a proliferation of these instruments. Many people tried to buy them unreasonably, and replace their LCD displayers.

To summarize, people should be conversant with how to manage their buying habits as it keeps them away from being superficial and keeps them aware of how many commodities are their necessities. It is high time we stopped overlooking the fact that buying unnecessarily has had a drastic influence on our behavior and triggered a rivalry in people’s buying.