Do you agree or disagree with the following statement All university students should be required to take history courses no matter what their field of study is

There is no doubt that history is the best teacher for societies. Everybody must know about the past events that have happened in their community. As far as I am concerned, aside from the basic curriculum in every major, history classes should be obligatory for students in every field. I feel this way for two main reasons, which I will explore in the following essay.

To begin with, knowing about the past causes people to act better in their life, which means life would be efficient. Certainly, everyone in the past made many mistakes during their lives that if they already knew about the consequences of that, they changed their decisions. The more we know about the past and the result of the decisions that people have made, the more we can prevent ourselves not to repeat mistakes that our ancestors made. For instance, our government has realized that the consequences of having an appropriate relationship with neighbors could be critical. There have been many wars between our county and our neighborhoods in the past for some issues that have taught us how to act in different situations.

Secondly, studying history improves the social ability of students, which helps them for getting a job better in the future. Knowing about the past and how people in different societies communicated with each other raises the knowledge of students about how to react to people from different cultures. As a result, students will perceive which kind of reaction with different people will have which consequences. My personal experience is a compelling example of this. When I was at university, I had problems communicating with people from different countries. When I began to read a history book about various cultures, I perceived how to start contact with people. This ability help me being a strong speaker, which consequently brings about getting a valuable job.

In conclusion, I believe that studying about the past could be advantageous for students without attention that which major they have. This is because knowing history gives rise to better and more efficient life, and it develops social ability among students.