Do you agree or disagree with the following statement? All university students should require to take history courses no matter what their field of study is.

The effectiveness of knowledge over the past events depends on its implemented fields. In this prompt, the author asserts that there should be an obligation of history class for entire university students, regardless of their field of study. This is an idea with which I generally do not concur. Among the countless reasons which give adherence to my outlook, I would list most conspicuous ones in what follows.

The first striking fact which should be considered is the volume of the program which each student takes during her study in university. Indeed, during short duration, according to the type of program, a prolonged list of courses should be fulfilled by the student for her graduation. In this case, the requirement of extra irrelevant courses makes the schedule to be severe tough. As an instance, the consideration of education period in an undergraduate program is in average four years, and during this period 144 credits related to the main major of study should be passed by student. By division of the number of credits to the number of semesters, each approximately has to pass 18 credits for each semester to be qualified for bachelor degree. In this scenario, adding the additional courses, which helpfulness is skeptical, as a pointless action. Therefore, instead of adding a further and useless border and on the student syllabus, it is a sound action to provide a list of courses which are more informative for students' future occupations.

Another equally crucial reason which should be highlighted here is the required physical and mental efforts for these courses. In fact, studying any content or course demands a high level of energy and effort, this level of energy increases as the topic of study gets stranger. This fact is also verified by a noteworthy, intelligent study conducted in the Psychology Department of the Tehran University in Iran. According to this research, average energy requires for studying a topic varies based on the familiarities of the topic, while during the study of the familiar issue, a student spends 100 calories, during the study of unfamiliar ones, these calories are doubled. Therefore, this research shows how asking for extra disjointed courses such as history, leads to extra effort for students, which could be used for their main courses.

However, some people believe that knowledge in the past is beneficial, as it provides feedbacks of previous failures and prevents their repetition in current time. Although this thought in the first glance seems valid and wise, it overlooks a subtle point. Actually, in the educational syllabus, there is a required history course related to the main course. This course provides a proliferate background about the past of that major, and there is no demand for further study which is merely additional border on the program.

To wrap it up, according to the all aforementioned reasons it is explicitly obvious that the obligation of history courses in universities is useless. As student possesses a tough program, and extra course derives the student energy; moreover, the current study plan in each university allocates one sufficient history course.