1. Claim: Many problems of modern society cannot be solved by laws and the legal system.

Reason: Laws cannot change what is in people's hearts or minds.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

The author claims that the legislation is not effective at handling the issues in the modern society. The writer further reasons that the thought and belief by mind and heart are inflexible and the rules cannot alter them. I fundamentally do not concur with the claim and its reason. In following paragraphs, I will list my potent reasons and cast doubt over the accuracy of this disposition.

The first striking fact is the systematic base of modern society. It is obvious that the indicator factor of the modern lifestyle from the previous ones is its concise and law-centered system. Is it possible that a general denies or overlooks its origin? Furthermore, the citizens of each society obey and adapt themselves according to the dominated order. Consequently, the domain statutes will be the preference of the solution for people whenever face the problem. Actually, the underestimate of this obvious fact is analogs to the deny of the earth rotation around the sun. While the heliocentric has assented as the axiom for a long duration, laws at law-ordered modern life are the fundament that solves lots of problems.

Another crucial reason, the norm which is defined via the laws. During the history, the man-kinds’ desire for doing the devilish actions such as the killing another person for gaining the power, or making someone blind for getting revenge is verified. Therefore, there should be a base and norm which distinguish the decent action from the indecent one. Besides the morality, the law is another benchmark for making the difference between the bad and good action. At least, the rule prevents the people from doing the bad tasks for the sake of fear of punishment defined by the established rules. A lucid example which clarifies this fact is a situation in which there is acerbate interaction between two persons, this bitterness could end by even shooting each other by the gun, as the person cannot tolerate the condition. In this case, the panic from the punishment of killing someone, or even the ban of possessing the gun halt this disaster ending. Thus, the laws actually prevent the possibility of the erring by the men.

Finally, the writer reasons that the heart and brain are constant over the variation; so, laws are futile for changing their attitude. Simply the author underweights the fact of the mutation which the man-kind experiences during his life. Based on the scientific and psychological observation, a person faces various cycles of variation over his life cycles. These variations occur in both dimensions of the physical and mental. The change of belief of heart and thought of brain occurs by the mental alteration. This transformation occurs based on the trend ideology of that day which mostly shapes based on the domain laws. According to this logic, this could extract that the laws, defines the thought and belief of people.

To wrap it up, all aforementioned arguments lead us to the conclusion the adduced claim and reason is misleading.